Highway to Hellebores

Full disclosure, this fabric was originally bedding. Like, two pillowcases and a duvet cover. I used about half of it to make a Cambie Dress but still had loads left, so offered it to Bee (the Sister). She came up with the brilliant idea to use the Kim dress bodice as a crop top, as it’s just that little bit to short for a full top.

IMG_2770

As you can see, it turned out pretty blooming gorgeous. To make things easier (and because we had loads of fabric to play with) we self-lined throughout, then simply turned in the bottom hem and top stitched in place. Originally we intended to add a separating zipper at the back, but despite much searching, we couldn’t find one in the right length. The one time my zipper stash has failed me!

Anyway, I came up with the idea of doing bridal buttons for a super classy touch. I just used cream ribbon to create the button loops and thankfully had just the right shank buttons to complement it.

The back is my favourite part of the dress. It turned out so well; we’ve got plans for a number of them using a bunch of my larger scraps. It’s a great way to uxe up that last piece of fabric and they’re apparently very big right now (or so Bee informs me).

As we’re both so long in the torso, the Kim bodice is the perfect basis for a whole wardrobe of crop tops! Maybe not for me, but definitely for Bee. It might not be what the By Hand London ladies intended but it looks fabulous.

A quick return to the buttons: after two wears the buttons themselves are doing great (sewn on by Bee) but the ribbon is starting to fray. Damnation! The one thing that took the most time and energy is the one thing that’s coming apart first! Do you find that happens to you? Anyway, I’m going to try and find some pre-made bridal loops that should stand up better to wear and tear.

Overall, the design was excellent, the recipient very pleased but the details just weren’t up to my usual standard. But the important thing was that I tried. Even if it means I’m not scouring Ebay and Etsy for cheap bridal button loops.

Leave a Reply

