I moustache you a question

I’m such a sucker for novelty prints. The more whimsical and fun, the better. So when I saw this moustache printed cotton drill in Spotlight I knew I had to have some. I don’t usually work with drill or anything in grey (I’m a bit obsessed with bright colours and pastels, though I seem to be on a black tangent at the moment) so this was a bit out of the ordinary for me. But I still love the novelty prints.

Anywho, I got myself a metre and a half of this mustache drill. Initially I had visions of a gathered skirt with a wide black elastic waistband, but my ideas quickly shifted to pleating when I saw New Look 6242. Bee had bought it to use the bodice patterns in cosplay, but it was the simple pleated skirt that I took interest in.

New Look 6242

My measurements put me somewhere between a 14 and a 16. I like my clothes very fitted so I cut the fourteen and I still had to take it in at the waist. The pattern itself was very straightforward; I only made a few adjustments. Rather than using ½’’ wide ribbon for the interior waistband, I used some white hem facing I had on hand. It worked beautifully! For added durability I sewed two lines of topstitching at the top and bottom of the hem facing.

IMG_2758

Apart from that, I took the waist in about one and a half inches and inserted a centered zipper on one side. That’s pretty much it.

IMG_2757

I think it turned out pretty well. I’ve still got a bit of fabric left which I’ve got plans to make into a bodice with contrasting black skirt, inspired by this dress: http://vintagegaleria.com/products/mustache-dress-vintage

head over wheels mustache dress

I’m still trying to decide between a pleated skirt and a gathered skirt though. Any suggestions?

 

One thought on “I moustache you a question

Leave a Reply

